• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Irp Updates

#1 User is offline   Medwyn 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 01 November 2005 - 10:19 AM

Can anyone advise me as I'm new to all this.

Can you tell me whether ACC is obliged to carry out the things listed in an IRP before they can change it for a new one.

Are IRP's negotiable and if so, how do I go about it.

many thanks in anticipation,

Medwyn

#2 User is offline   magnacarta 

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip

Posted 01 November 2005 - 11:23 AM

Firstly, by virtue of s.76 (4) ACC is liable to provide the services identified in an agreed IRP - have your signed and agreed to your IRP????

Secondly, by virtue of s.78 an IRP must be updated from time to time to reflect the outcome of assessments done and progress made under the plan.

Thirdly, by virtue of Schedule 1 Clause 10 both you and ACC may agree to modify an IRP from time to time.

Fourthly, by virtue of s.77 (3) ACC must assess a claimants social and vocational rehabilitation needs when preparing an IRP.

Generally, ACC is failing on all counts.

Fifthly, buy yourself a copy of the Act from reputable bookshops like Bennett's etc.

#3 User is offline   Medwyn 

• Pip

Posted 01 November 2005 - 11:32 AM

Magnacarta,

Thanks for the reply.

I now take it that if ACC has not completed their stated intentions on the IRP, that may be grounds for review?

#4 User is offline   greg 

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip

Posted 01 November 2005 - 11:39 AM

A Tip; checkout which ACC. Act you are under first.
I totally agree with Magnacarta about the purchase. You
are now entering a field of legal battles, which you will
need to be fully infomed about, and know your rights
before any contact with case managers or find a well
versed Advocate or lawyer with ACC Law.

A few dollars spent now should save you thousand later.

Enjoy the power Knowledge can supply to those who chose to find it.

:) :)

#5 User is offline   Medwyn