Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Loss of potential earnings

#1 User is offline   Kiwichick 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 25 September 2017 - 01:11 PM

I have been on weekly comp for the last year and a half, since unsuccessful surgery. My accident was around two years before surgery, due to having to fight ACC for nearly two years for cover. At the time of my accident I was only working part time and earning around $600 per week, so my weekly comp has been calculated from this wage, and is $405 per week after tax. A week after my accident I graduated to full time and was then paid around $900 per week, until the surgery, over a year later. I have hardly worked after surgery due to pain and impairment, and two more surgeries for different injuries. I am wondering if i can claim LOPE as I would have been earning $900 per week and have struggled for ages on 80% of my part-time wage.

#2 User is offline   Alan Thomas 

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip

Posted 25 September 2017 - 04:29 PM

View PostKiwichick, on 25 September 2017 - 01:11 PM, said:

I have been on weekly comp for the last year and a half, since unsuccessful surgery. My accident was around two years before surgery, due to having to fight ACC for nearly two years for cover. At the time of my accident I was only working part time and earning around $600 per week, so my weekly comp has been calculated from this wage, and is $405 per week after tax. A week after my accident I graduated to full time and was then paid around $900 per week, until the surgery, over a year later. I have hardly worked after surgery due to pain and impairment, and two more surgeries for different injuries. I am wondering if i can claim LOPE as I would have been earning $900 per week and have struggled for ages on 80% of my part-time wage.

Quite obviously the legislation requires ACC to pay you at the greater amount of earnings compensation as a result of your initial injury.