• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Help retaining ERC payments

#1 User is offline   jkhs 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 19 March 2012 - 04:25 PM

Hi,

I'm a Tetra, two years post injury, I can stand and can walk a little with crutches. I do not have much problem with pain but have some major fatigue and spasticity issues.

I live overseas and am working a few hours a week. I work in the tourism sector and it is currently the quiet season so that is all the the hours that are available. in a few months I should be up to six or seven plus three hours of language lessons.
I do not feel that I am capable of working much more then this, I try to exercise three times a week in order to maintain what function I have and to better control my spasticity. Anytime I over do it, work exercise of play, it kicks off the spasms and fatigue and it takes me a few days to recover.

Last week I received a letter stating that I needed to be working 30 hours a week within the next 12 weeks or I will be required to return to NZ and preform a Functional Capacity Evaluation, a Vocational Occupation Assessment and a Vocational Medical Assessment.

Is there anyway I can avoiding have to come back and preform these tests?
If not how do I convince them that 30 hours is too much?

Any thoughts, suggestions, advise will be very much appreciated.

Thanks..

#2 User is offline   Huggy 

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip

Posted 19 March 2012 - 04:57 PM

ACC can require you to undergo any of those assessments at any time, unfortunately there is not a lot you can do, you either attend the assessments and possibly still be deemed unable to work 30 hours or more a week, or do not attend the tests where they then have the legal right to terminate your entitlements.

It is your responsibility to pay all travel costs to get to and from NZ.

#3 User is offline   Bazil Fawlty 

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip

Posted 19 March 2012 - 06:02 PM